What I want, what I really, really want

Day 2: What do I really want out of life? How do I make sure I get it?

Good question; I’m going to rephrase it.

What do I really want out of life? How do I make sure I keep it?

From my earliest days, I’ve wanted a family that worked.  A family that could communicate and work together and be a place of love and happiness and strength and faith.

736ff-unconditional-love

It’s taken a lot of work, but I have that now and I want to keep it.

That takes intention. It takes being responsible for my actions and being willing to apologize when I’m wrong.  It takes having boundaries and not falling into the rut of being a people pleaser. Everyone needs to contribute and we all need to be working toward health. It takes being vulnerable and being willing to talk about things when it’s hard. It takes looking people in the eye and not being constantly distracted by technology. It takes planning to be sure everyone’s physical needs are met.  Is there food in the house? Are the bills being paid? Do you have clean clothes? All of that is important.

I love my family. My blended, diverse family is one of the absolute favorite parts of my life. We may not be traditional and we may even cross over into some people’s definition of “not family,” but I don’t care. These are my people. We are family by choice and I am willing to do what’s needed to keep it.

 

Save

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

